National Championships Coming to Ashburn, Virginia, March 7-10

The following is a release from the ACHA containing information on this season's Women's Division 1 and 2 national championship tournaments.

Sixteen of the top women’s club hockey teams from across the nation will descend on Northern Virginia from Thursday through Sunday, March 7-10, 2013 to crown a pair of national champions in women’s collegiate club hockey.

Operating under the direction of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA), 39 different colleges and universities fields women’s ice hockey teams across two competitive divisions. The top eight teams from each division based on a poll of ACHA coaches, will convene at the Ashburn Ice House in Ashburn, VA to compete in a four-day event to determine the Division 1 and 2 titlists.

“As [February 6th, the date the release was written] is National Girls and Women in Sports Day as mandated by the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition, we figured this is the ideal day to formally announce next month’s event,” said Kim Becker, ACHA Commissioner for both women’s divisions. “In recent years, we have seen tremendous growth in women’s hockey at all levels, and we’re proud that this year’s competition, with an increase of two from last year to 16 teams, will be our largest post-season tournament ever.”

Dating back to 2001, ACHA Division 1 has crowned 12 national champs including four time winner Lindenwood University from Saint Charles, MO while Division 2 has awarded six championship trophies since 2007 with Rainy River College from International Falls, MN leading the way with three.

With the University of Maryland and the University of Delaware the only truly local teams in either division, participating clubs will travel from all four corners of the country. Colleges such as UMass, Miami, Michigan, Michigan State, Wisconsin, Vermont, Alaska, North Dakota and Liberty all field teams at the ACHA level but in many cases, the top teams don’t necessarily hail from the big name schools. “Some of the smaller universities and colleges field highly competitive teams as evidenced by our lineup of past champions,” Becker said. “And as this event is truly national in scope, fans who turn out can expect to witness some spectacular women’s hockey.”

According to Becker, the teams will be selected on Tuesday, February 19 and will be seeded based on rankings into two conferences for each tournament. Each team will play three round robin games on Thursday and Friday, with the semifinalists advancing to the knockout rounds on Saturday. Both championship games and a third place game will take place on Sunday.

All games are open to the public. For more information, visit www.achahockey.org or contact Steve Winter at 202-468-8100; or swinter@aboutbwf.com.