WIHC Honored For Organizational Excellence by PSU Club Sports

Mary Kate Tonetti, Allie Rothman and Taylor Nyman accept the WIHC's organizational excellence award

Penn State's Club Sports Program named the Women's Ice Hockey Club as the Outstanding Women's Club For Organizational Excellence at its seventh annual honors reception, held Thursday evening in Beaver Stadium's Mount Nittany Club.

In the award category, the WIHC edged out fellow finalists softball and women's basketball. The former qualified for NCSA Nationals by winning the North Atlantic regional championship this past Sunday, while the female cagers recently finished as runners-up at the NIRSA National Championship Tournament.

The laurel recognizes the outstanding work of the club's executive board - featuring graduating seniors Allie Rothman, Katie Vaughan and Carly Szyszko, as well as junior Mary Kate Tonetti, who will return as president next year - along with the rest of the organization in not only establishing the team just two years ago, but driving it to the top of the ACHA in both on and off-ice functions. In addition to finishing as national runners-up in both 2012-13 and 2013-14, the team is frequently noted for its professionalism and operational successes. Performance in the classroom is yet another hallmark of the squad, as it posted a cumulative 3.45 grade point average with 11 Dean's List qualifiers during this past fall semester.

The WIHC has now won awards from the club sports department in each of its two seasons, as it was named PSU's most improved team at 2013's honors reception.

Other notable groups among those recognized include Penn State Taekwondo and Penn State Club Track and Field, which shared the Club of the Year award. The WIHC's men's hockey counterparts, the Ice Lions, were tabbed for an athletic excellence award and for having the vice president of the year in junior Neil Laessig.

Here is a complete list of Thursday's winners:

Athletic Excellence Awards
Aquatics Activities
Boating Activities
Indoor Non-Martial Arts Activities
Men's Ice Hockey
Martial Arts Activites
Outdoor Field Activities
Field Hockey
Outdoor Non-Field Activities
Alpine Skiing

Organizational Excellence Awards
Outstanding Community Service
Cross Country
Outstanding THON Involvement
Men's/Women's Water Polo
When It Rains, It Pours
Outstanding Men's Club
Men's Volleyball
Outstanding Women's Club
Women's Ice Hockey
Outstanding Co-Ed Club
Indoor Winter Guard
Most Improved Club

Individual and Officer Awards
Non-Traditional Officer of the Year
Shannon Larson - Women's Lacrosse
Secretary of the Year
Margi Rivara - Women's Basketball
Treasurer of the Year
Marc Stephenson - Crew
Vice President of the Year
Neil Laessig - Men's Ice Hockey
President of the Year
Sid Pandey - Taekwondo
Nittany Lion Award
Lara Kaiserian - Water Polo
Supervisor's Choice
Julia Ferraiolo - Indoor Winter Guard
Male Athlete of the Year
Jason West - Triathlon
Female Athlete of the Year
Heather Derr - Alpine Skiing

Club of the Year 
Track and Field

Penn State Women's Ice Hockey Club: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Ustream